This is the archive of the old Colorless! Go to the new Colorless →

Actionscript 3... Does it have a good side? (Thread)

First for a quick note on my experience with Actionscript 3. I am a programmer, and have been programming in C++ for about 6 years now, I started doing some Actionscript 3 projects for my work about a year ago and have not found the reason why people like it so much.

My question to everyone who knows Actionscript 3 to please share your thoughts on the language.

My personal thoughts is that it is slow, underdeveloped, too slacking in catching errors when compiling, and too loose in general as a language. I know it is only a scripting language, but it is trying to act like a fully fledged language and everyone tried to use it like one. The only thing I find that it does good is make it easy to put a graphic on the screen, but really that's only when you make the graphic in flash and have it in the library for your project.

It appears to me you know what your talking about. yes this will be quite irrelevant. youve learned c++ but ive been told javascript is now moving up to top dawg. i wouldnt know. what are your thoughts?

AS3 is a lot like Java. It's not hard to learn at all. OOP is cool.
Make sure to look into memory-graphics lag though. Hint: Boolean arrays are your friends.

btw since you know C++ would you mind if I ask you a simple question about it?

Javascript is being used a lot for interactive website, but not as much for games. AS3 is use the most, as far as I know, for web games.

AS3 does share a lot of similarities with Java, but java is a more robust language.

@Shigeru sure, just send me over a PM.

@hazuki257 Yeah, Java's robustness is its appeal. I do like AS3 when it comes to its graphics interface.

Flash however I feel is being challenged as of late, especially with the coming of HTML5. It still has its uses to learn if you want to do animation stuff or web game stuff. Otherwise I'm not sure how much you need it. XD