This is the archive of the old Colorless! Go to the new Colorless →

How do you save money? (Thread) - Page 2

Cook your own meals. Buying ingredients and cooking yourself will save you considerable cash, but do know it is a time-consuming process.

So in essence it all boils down to time management. Is it more effective to spend time cooking food to lower costs, or spend more time working a job overtime and eating out more frequently due to lack of time? That all is up to you.

For saving money:

1) You need to know in what you'll spend it later
2) Determination to save it and not spending it in other stuff
3) Maybe dividing the money. A part for daily spending, and the other for saving

Well, that's how i bought my guitar :D now i'm happy i didn't spend the money on small stuff

I just starve...

I just don't buy stuff. Since I'm still a student and live with my parents I don't have much expanses. And even if I don't need to save for something special I still try roughly budget myself to half of the money I get per month.

If you are living by your self and cook your own meals, look at the comparison prices in the store(for kilo/liter etc). The prices on the same things can vary a lot between brands and package sizes.
Same same but different you know.

If you make a budget of how much money you allow yourself to spend for example a month, take that money in cash and leave the credit card at home. It's hard to spend money when you don't have it.

By keeping yourself busy with activities that don't use up your money so quickly

I swiched to GEICO....

@TalTal19 You sort of made my day.

Let me get this straight.

You have some income which covers your basic necessities and a bit more.

So you find yourself in a situation when your necessities are covered and you have something left, right?

And then you spend whatever is left, right?

Figure that one out, Einstein.