This is the archive of the old Colorless! Go to the new Colorless →

Where to begin? (Thread)

Hey guys! How are you? So here's the thing, I kinda need a little help, well a lot of help. I've been wanting to start some kind of programming and web design type stuff however I don't know where to start.
We don't have any classes on such a subject at school and there are no places near me that teach computer programming. Think you guys can help?
Btw I'm new to the Colorless so hi! :)

Hello, I'm good, you? Well saying "stuff" doesn't define all too much, but anyways this link might help http://www.w3schools.com/ it's a good site in my opinion and you should be able to learn at least something.

@RobinSTFU

Web design and web programming are two very different things.

I can't really say much about the design part - I am not a designer, it takes me forever to make anything look halfway decent - but generally, to make websites, you'd want to use HTML (for the websites structure) and CSS (for the websites looks), and some graphics program to create graphics for your websites. The graphics program, you'll hopefully be able to find your way around yourself, as for the HTML part:

w3schools, linked above, isn't outright bad, but it is a bit outdated, and often, their tutorials advocate things that are not generally seen as being a good idea anymore. Google has a thorough, though high speed tutorial that starts at zero, HTML, CSS, and Javascript from the Ground Up.